Club Championship

Beltrami Club Championship – Round 2

Decisive games galore in round 1


In 2022/23, Queens Park Members have the opportunity to compete in our five round Club Championship, supported by our season sponsor Beltrami & Co.

Each round has a ‘designated date’. This is a Tuesday evening club night at which we encourage Members to play their Beltrami Club Championship games in our usual venue.

If Members are not available on this date, Tournament Controller Alex Lane will work with you and your opponent to find an alternative date – and possibly a different venue – that suits both players.

Games are played at the 60+0 time control, under Chess Scotland rules, involving use of a clock and notating moves. One point is awarded for a win, and half a point for a draw. Using the Swiss pairings format, the number of points Members are on will determine who they are drawn against in the next round – i.e. “winners play winners”.

Round 1

32 players competed in the first round. Unusually, all games were decisive, with no draws. Round one winners included the Club’s highest rated players Tommy Lally (1616) and Craig Thomson (1582), and defending champion Rhys McCrosson (1477).

On the lower boards, unrated newcomers Connor Thompson, Andrew Speirs, Ash Angappan and Paul Stewart also picked up full points.

The full results are available on this website.

The results have also been graded and published by Chess Scotland.

All round 1 games were played in November 2022

Round 2

Seven new members joined the Beltrami Club Championship at round two. Most games were played on the designated date of Tuesday 10 January at 6:45pm.

The results follow:

1Tommy Lally16161-0Derek Rankine1318
2Chris Dinwoodie10250-1Craig Thomson1582
3Rhys McCrosson14771-0Iain Shields1093
4Andrew Speirs00-1Paul Cumming1432
5Giuseppe Bosco14111-0Greg Forrest0
6Connor Thompson01-0Harvey Dellanzo1373
7Graeme McKinnon13390-1Ash Angappan0
8Paul Stewart00-1*Alistair Ahmed1606
9Wull Swales01-0Jass McNeill1254
10Caitlin McCulloch11280-1Ryan McGill0
11Ronnie Martin01-0Aidan Doye0
12Moray Lennox00.5-0.5Douglas Veitch0
13Harry Thomson00-1Sagar Kukreja0
14Rhys Brown01-0*Jackie Logan0
15James Carson00-1*Gemma Dickson0
16Sachin Vats00-1*Jonny Linney0
17Jordan McNaught14220-1*Stewart Gray1449
18Thomas Fowley01-0Michael Mathieson0
19Philip Blaber12601-0*Ethan Small0
* = Default Win

The designated date for round three is Tuesday 21 February. The draw will be shared with Club Members via email and WhatsApp, and posted on the blog section.

Please contact us if you cannot play your game on this date and we will work with you and your opponent to reschedule. Those in the draw who do not turn up to play their fixture, or notify the Club in advance, risk a loss by default.